Striped Bass Obsession
Only members can access the forums so please join us become a member.....

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Striped Bass Obsession
Only members can access the forums so please join us become a member.....
Striped Bass Obsession
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

wood for plugs

+2
CaptFrank
ihaventseenitall
6 posters

Go down

wood for plugs Empty wood for plugs

Post  ihaventseenitall 3/7/2011, 4:21 pm

I have pleanty of cedar that I am removing from my yard. Does anyone know if I can use these to lathe. Do I have to wait a certain amont of time to use it. Is it worth the effort to do this. I have started to tie my teasers and hooks. and find it easy and fun. I'm just beginning to start to lathe. If fact I haven't set it up yet but will work on it soon. Thanks for any and all advice.

ihaventseenitall

Number of posts : 3

Back to top Go down

wood for plugs Empty Re: wood for plugs

Post  CaptFrank 3/7/2011, 4:59 pm

How big are the cedars? You most likely would want to get them cut up and then sticker them to dry out first. I don't think wet wood is good to use due to the possibility of it cracking and shrinking as it drys. I'm fairly new at lures, but I know doing decoys you wanted the wood pretty dry. I have used red and white cedar, both carve really well. If you need help getting the wood cut up shoot me a PM. I have a friend who could probably help.
CaptFrank
CaptFrank

Number of posts : 230

http://www.brynnie-binshorefishing.com

Back to top Go down

Post  Lbifisherman429 3/7/2011, 5:43 pm

if you cutting it your self... assuming this is a tree you will need to seal the ends of the logs using anchor seal (i think) or paint. This will prevent cracking. and then you have to wait until the moisture content of the wood gets down

Lbifisherman429
S.B.O DONATING MEMBER
S.B.O DONATING MEMBER

Number of posts : 391

Back to top Go down

Post  smitty 3/7/2011, 7:29 pm