Striped Bass Obsession
Only members can access the forums so please join us become a member.....

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Striped Bass Obsession
Only members can access the forums so please join us become a member.....
Striped Bass Obsession
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Opinions on a Daiwa Luna 300 conventional reel

+2
rocstar21
wink_man
6 posters

Go down

Opinions on a Daiwa Luna 300 conventional reel Empty Opinions on a Daiwa Luna 300 conventional reel

Post  wink_man 5/18/2010, 5:13 pm

I'm looking for a new conventional reel for one of my custom graphite rods.

I've always used Abu Garcia conventionals with good results, but was looking at a Daiwa Luna 300 today, and it seems to be one heck of a reel, but I have no experience with them, nor do I know anyone who uses them. They are also just a wee bit more pricey than an Abu Garcia, so I'd love to hear any input(good or bad) as far as realtime experience with them.

I will do a LOT of casting with this outfit, in the Point Pleasant Canal, and various other sundry places, so I'm looking for a reel that casts like a dream, absolutely reliably, and has the beef to handle large stripers, either on land casting and retreiving lures, or in a boat doing the same, or snagging bunker, jigging etc. This will be mainly a striper rod as I said above, and I'm looking for a quality reel that will last me a long time. I use my equipment a lot, 5 to 6 days(or nights) is average for me duing the season.

This particular reel seems to fit what I'm looking for as far as weight of the reel, max drag, etc. The reel has a total weight of 12.9 ounces and a shade over 15 lbs. of maximim drag and will hold about 260 yards of 65 LB. braid.

If you are going to recommend another reel over it, I also would like to hear your input also, just understand the reel you recommend must be a levelwind and have a casting thumbar, or I can't live with it.