Striped Bass Obsession
Only members can access the forums so please join us become a member.....

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Striped Bass Obsession
Only members can access the forums so please join us become a member.....
Striped Bass Obsession
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

question for the builders

+2
eurojett05
fishing75
6 posters

Go down

question for the builders  Empty question for the builders

Post  fishing75 10/27/2010, 11:47 am

looking to buy my first lathe and i don't want to drop a lot of money on it but would like it to have the capability to drill as well. my buddy and i have been making plugs for a few months now and i really love doing it. they only problem is that he has the lathe and it is all up to him when we make them so i want to buy one so i can do it when i want to. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. oh and i don't want to break the bank either. thanks so much guys

fishing75

Number of posts : 596

Back to top Go down

question for the builders  Empty Re: question for the builders

Post  eurojett05 10/27/2010, 12:56 pm

check out the used tools sales ad in your area. You might find a decent lathe there. I use a turncrafter wood lathe. Good Luck in your search.
eurojett05
eurojett05

Number of posts : 2453

Back to top Go down

Post  Murphthesurf 10/28/2010, 8:43 am

If you dont want to spend alot of money get yourself the Harbor Frieght Table Top. Super super lathe for the money. I have a Jett Mini and the H.F. lathe. They are both great and at a 1/4 of the price then my Jett. You wont be disappointed.
Murphthesurf
Murphthesurf
S.B.O DONATING MEMBER
S.B.O DONATING MEMBER

Number of posts : 1567

Back to top Go down

Post  fishing75 10/28/2010, 9:03 am

Thanks for the info. I'll head down to harbour freight and check it out. I can't wait to start turning.

fishing75

Back to top Go down

Post  jtaggart 10/28/2010, 8:24 pm